I can’t believe I haven’t posted since August! I certainly didn’t stop making salads for the last 2 months, I just couldn’t find the time to post them. So here is a little run down of what I’ve been into as far as early fall salad eating is concerned…

The roasted squash salad above was my first foray into autumnal eating. I roasted an acorn squash along with a fennel bulb, and tossed it with salad greens, mustard vinaigrette, and goat cheese. I was super into goat cheese for 2 weeks in September. I’m more into blue cheese at the moment.

I continued on my roasting kick and decided to roast a whole cubed eggplant. Then I mashed it up with very thinly cut raw garlic, basil, olive oil, lemon juice, salt, and pepper. It was so great! I loved eating it on crackers.

More recently I’ve been crazy for hazelnuts especially in combination with fall fruits. The salad above was salad greens, herbs, apples, toasted hazelnuts and a mustard vinaigrette.

And this one was red leaf lettuce, thinly sliced red onion, thinly sliced pear, toasted hazelnuts, and my new favorite simple vinaigrette which is just champagne vinegar, salt, pepper, and olive oil. Sometimes I add some honey if my greens are bitter and could use some sweetness. I am totally into champagne vinegar!

So in short this fall I’m into roasting, hazelnuts, and champagne vinegar. What about you guys? Do you have any fall favorites?

