Adapted from a Bon Appetit recipe.

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb tomatoes, halved
  • 4 ounces stale crusty bread (I used a baguette) cut into 1/2-inch chunks
  • 1/2 of a green bell pepper, seeded and chopped
  • 1  cucumber, peeled seeded and chopped
  • 1/2 cup diced red onion
  • 2 tablespoons sherry vinegar
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil plus more for garnishing
  • 1 garlic clove, minced
  • 1/2 tsp of paprika (plus more for garnish)
  • pinch of cayenne pepper
  • salt and pepper
  • a cup of water

Squeeze the juice and seeds from the tomato halves into a mesh strainer and press the juice through into a bowl. Discard the seeds. Chop up the tomato flesh and add it to the juice.

Add all the ingredients except for the water to the tomato mixture. Mix it up and let it sit at room temp for an hour.

In 2 batches blend the mixture with the water in a food processor or blender and then push it through the mesh strainer.

Chill for another hour.

To serve drizzle the soup with additional olive oil, paprika and pepper.

++++++++++++++++

I wanted to make lunch but I didn’t want to go to the store. Just as I was deciding whether to have scrambled eggs and crackers or rice and cabbage  it dawned on me that I had all the ingredients to make gazpacho!

When I was a kid I used to eat a lot of gazpacho in the summer when I would visit my grammy in Connecticut. It came out of a red can and it was delicious. In later years she actually started making her own white gazpacho with sour cream and it was also delicious. This is notable because she wasn’t a very good cook so gazpacho was always the culinary highlight of my trip. (I don’t mean to talk badly about her, she was a great card player, a champion fisherwoman, and an all around hoot but cooking just wasn’t her thing.)

This is an actual no-cook soup which is always great in the summer and it’s the perfect time of year for all these ingredients. Plus, as I was whipping my batch up the smell made me think about my summers in Connecticut and that made me happy.

