Adapted from Canal House Cooking “An Italian Summer.”  Ingredients for the Tonnato Sauce:

  • 2 large egg yolks
  • salt
  • Juice of 1 lemon
  • 1/2 cup canola oil
  • 1/2 cup olive oil
  • 1 can of tuna in olive oil, drained
  • 1 can of anchovies in olive oil, not drained
  • 1 tbsp capers
  • 1 clove garlic
  • pepper

Whisk the yolks with the lemon juice and a pinch of salt until well combined.

Combine the olive oil and canola oil and then whisk them into the yolk mixture a few tablespoons at a time. Make sure the oil is totally incorporated before you add more. Gradually the sauce will thicken as you add more oil. Congratulations, you have just made mayonnaise!

Place the tuna, the anchovies and the oil from the anchovies, the capers, and the garlic in a food processor along with 1/4 cup water. Bend it until it’s totally smooth. Press this slurry through a sieve into the mayonnaise and mix it into the mayo. Add salt and pepper to taste.

Spoon some onto a plate and top with sliced tomatoes, parsley, salt and pepper. Eat!

+++++++++++++++

I’m not much of a recipe follower (except when it comes to baking) but when I saw this dish in the new Canal House magazine I knew I had to make it. I’ve been big into tuna lately and I’m always into homemade mayo so I knew I’d love it. I want to put this sauce on everything now. I think it would be so good on poached chicken but it’s too hot to poach anything so I think I’ll just stick serving it with cold raw things for now.

It’s finally tomato season around here and I’m pretty happy about it. The only problem is that I go kind of crazy at the farmers market and get way too many tomatoes every time I go. But there are far worse problems to have. I will just have to make some spaghetti sauce and freeze it or something.

I’ve also been making this delicious gem a lot: a baguette with mayonnaise, salt pepper, and tomatoes. So good!

