So now that I’m back from Mexico City I am missing the food big time. I think it’s going to be a while before I go to any of my favorite New York City Mexican restaurants, there’s just no way they can compare to what we ate there. These beautiful little 1/2 beef and 1/2 chorizo “Campechano” tacos were from the taco stand right outside our apartment and they were so good. And the guys who made them were so nice and would wave and say hi every time we walked by. The best! They also had a juice bar where I got a daily pineapple and lime agua fresca which is one of my new favorite things. I kind of want to get a blender just so I can make it.

Throughout our trip I kept seeing women holding baskets full of these ultra bright half-moon shaped cookie things. And on our last day in town I finally bought a pack of them for myself. This picture doesn’t do justice for how bright they were. Anyway, they didn’t taste like much (kind of like a communion wafer) but I thought they looked so incredible, all day-glow with tiny pumpkin seed teeth.

Now that I’m back I’m going to start posting salads (and cookies and stuff) again soon. It is nice to be able to cook again!

