Ingredients:

  • dried white beans
  • olive oil
  • garlic
  • salt and pepper
  • lemon juice

Soak the beans for a few hours or as directed on your bag of beans. Boil them in salted water for an hour until tender. Meanwhile cook a few chopped cloves of garlic in olive oil until tender. When the beans are done drain them and put them together in a bowl with the garlic, salt, pepper, lemon juice, and more olive oil. Then whip them up with a food processor or hand blender. I served it, still hot, with toast and sautéed broccoli flowers.

+++++++++++

I’ve been getting into cooking dried beans lately. It always makes me feel so capable, taking the little desiccated pebble-like beans and turning them into something so soft and delicious. This bean dip is my new favorite preparation. Next time I might add raw garlic and Cayenne pepper to spice it up.

Since I’m new to cooking dried beans I’m also new to the idea that adding salt to them while they cook makes them tough. I do not think this is true. I think salt makes them tasty. Anyone out there have an opinion on the subject?

