Ingredients:

  • 5 beaten eggs
  • 1/4 cup milk
  • salt and pepper
  • 1/2 cup shredded Fontina cheese
  • Swiss Chard sautéed in olive oil and garlic, fully cooked
  • a Tbsp of flour
  • grated Parmesan

Combine all ingredients except for the Parmesan and mix well. Pour into a buttered pie pan. Sprinkle the top with Parmesan. Bake in a 350 degree oven for 35-45 minutes until its puffed and brown. Let it deflate and cool slightly before eating.

In the past  I haven’t had the best luck with egg dishes like frittatas and quiches. My quiches tend to get  kind of soupy in the middle, which I now realize is from under-cooking the vegetables, and the crust is always a little underdone on the bottom. Meanwhile my attempts at frittatas have always been too browned, one might even say burnt, because you have to cook them twice, once on the stove top and once in the oven or broiler. The crustless quiche is the answer to all my egg dish woes!

This thing was so easy and it tasted just right. It wasn’t soupy in the least because I thoroughly cooked the chard before I added it to the eggs, making sure that it wasn’t going to give off any more water. And it wasn’t burnt because it didn’t get cooked twice. I just threw it in the oven and forgot about it for 45 minutes and then a picture perfect omelette-y thing emerged. I recommend this for any luncheon or bruncheon type of event.

