Ingredients:

  • a can of chicken, drained
  • mayonnaise
  • chopped celery
  • green grapes sliced in half
  •  salt and pepper

Mix all the ingredients above together then serve on a bed of Boston Lettuce dressed with lemon juice and olive oil. If you are a nerd like me you can garnish it with a lemon slice.

+++++++++++++++

You may be asking yourself what kind of self-respecting foodie eats canned chicken? The answer is me! There’s no shame in canned tuna so I don’t see anything wrong with canned chicken (plus one can is the perfect amount for a solo lunch.)

I love putting all kinds of stuff into my tuna and chicken salads: apples, grapes, raisins, onions, walnuts, carrots, celery, and radishes are all welcome to the mayonnaise-y party. In this case I kept it simple and went with just celery and grapes because I wanted a crisp clean flavor. I must say that I really amused myself with the presentation of this particular salad. To me it looks like a 1960’s magazine recipe, like something from my grandma’s recipe box (although in that case it would probably involve lime jello).

