Ingredients:

  • Popped Popcorn
  • Melted Butter
  • Curry Powder
  • Salt
  • Sugar

This combo may sound weird but I swear it’s not.

Popcorn has always been one of my favorite foods. My dad always made it when I was growing up and he always did it on the stove, not the microwave.  And as long as I’ve been cooking for myself I’ve made popcorn in the same way, rattling the pot around on the burner and listening to the kernels go nuts under the lid, then taking it off the heat once they calm down a bit.For much of my life I ate it with butter and salt and that’s it. Even though I’ve always loved salty/ sweet things it never occurred to me to put sugar on popcorn until I was about 20 years old. I went to see a movie at Film Forum (where incidentally they have the best movie theater popcorn in all of New York City) with a British friend and in addition to salt he poured sugar on top of the popcorn we were sharing. I looked at him like he was crazy but he told me that’s how everyone did it in the UK. Once I tasted it I was hooked.

I can’t remember how I started putting curry powder on it too, but I swear it’s totally delicious. It adds something special.

Even though this is my go-to popcorn “recipe” I also really like to make it (a la my friend Nicole) with olive oil, salt, pepper, and brewers yeast.  It’s actually the only reason I have ever bought brewers yeast, I have no idea what else one would make with it (beer?)

So what about you my fellow popcorn-eaters? How do you dress up popcorn?

