Spinach Salad with Roasted Carrots and Feta

Ingredients:

  • Spinach
  • Feta
  • A Bunch of Carrots
  • The juice of one lemon
  • Fresh Dill
  • Fresh Parsley
  • Olive Oil
  • Salt
  • Pepper

Peel the carrots and cut them in half.  Toss them with olive oil, 1/2 of the lemon juice, salt, and pepper and spread them on a cookie sheet then bake them for 35 minutes at 400 degrees.

Meanwhile chop dill, and parsley and toss spinach with olive oil, salt, pepper, and remaining lemon juice.

When carrots are nice and roasted take them out of the oven and toss them with the cut herbs. Put the carrots on top of the spinach and crumble the feta on top of the whole thing.

Spinach Salad with Feta, Walnuts, and Raisins

Ingredients:

  • Spinach
  • Feta, crumbled
  • Walnuts
  • A Handful of Raisins
  • The juice from 1/2 a lemon
  • olive oil
  • salt
  • pepper

Boil some water and pour it over the raisins, let this sit until the raisins are nice and plump (about 10 minutes) and then drain them thoroughly.

Meanwhile, chop the walnuts and toast them in a dry skillet until they are brown and fragrent.

Toss everything together and put the walnuts on top.

++++++++++++++++++++++++++

I have been such a cookie fiend lately that I thought I’d do a double salad post. Although to be honest I have some cookies in the oven at this very moment, but I’ll post those some other time.

These salads were so simple and so tasty. I used an entire bag of carrots for the first one and I ate it all by myself- its a wonder that I didn’t turn orange. The second one was originally going to be spinach, raisin, and pine nuts because I think that’s a pretty traditional combination, but then the only pine nuts I found at the store were $20!!! The grocery stores in my new neighborhood are confounding. For instance, I had to go to two stores to find carrots. Also, my closest deli only carries weird organic sugar that doesn’t work in baking. I forget how spoiled I am living in Brooklyn though… cause the deli that does carry the normal Domino sugar (but not carrots) is just a little further down the block, so I shouldn’t complain too much.

