Basic Peanut Butter Cookies, adapted from The Joy of Cooking:

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.

Whisk together:

  • 1 1/2 cups flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda

In a separate bowl beat together:

  • 1/3 cup butter (5 1/3 tablespoons) unsalted butter
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar

Beat in:

  • 1 egg
  • 1 cup natural smooth peanut butter
  • 1 tsp vanilla

Stir in the flour mixture until it all comes together. Roll dough into small balls and flatten with a fork. Bake on parchment lined baking sheets for 11 minutes. Cool and eat.

++++++++++++++++++++++++++

My former band was on tour in Europe several years ago and we had a British driver and roadie. As we were getting to know them we were teasing them about England’s reputation for awful food. They both looked at us quizzically, “You think WE have bad food? But you’re American, you guys have the worst food.” We protested. What could possibly be grosser than mushy peas and blood pudding? They both had the same emphatic answer, “peanut butter.”

It really surprised me to hear that peanut butter was not a universally beloved food. I could see not particularly liking it but what was there to hate? Ever since then I’ve tried to imagine what it would be like to taste peanut butter without having grown up with it.  I can see now why people might think it’s weird. It has an Oobleck like texture and a hearty savory flavor that might seem an odd pairing with honey or jam or something sweet. I imagine it might taste a little like Azuki bean paste does to me, which I like but don’t love.

Anyway I still like peanut butter but I never make peanut butter cookies because I always get sick of them faster than other cookies. However, since I’ve been on such a cookie kick I decided to give them a try. These came out really well but I don’t want to eat a million of them, which in the end might be a good thing.

What I do LOVE is peanut butter, banana, and honey on toast. That I don’t get sick of ever! Just look at this delicious treat….

