I had such a hankering for these cookies that I just had to make them- broken right wrist and all. So I took my wounded paw out of its removable splint and whipped them up using a recipe I posted on Salad Eater a few months ago (but substituting walnuts for the pecans of the original.) The next day my wrist was all swollen so maybe it wasn’t the smartest idea but they are truly delicious. I’m really proud of this recipe because I made it up and it really works! They are crispy and caramel-y and so so good. So here is the recipe again. The original had some typos and they are now fixed.

Note to Mrs. Potato- I think Mungo Sarnoff would really like these if you omitted the chocolate chips.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Cream together:

  • 2 sticks of butter
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup white sugar

Mix in:

  • 2 tsp vanilla
  • 2 eggs

In a separate bowl mix together:

  • 1 cup flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 2 1/2 cups of old fashioned oats

Add the dry ingredients to the wet ones and mix until well combined. Then stir in:

  • one cup chopped walnuts or peacans
  • a 12 oz bag of chocolate chips

Drop rounded teaspoons full of dough onto an un-greased cookie sheet and flatten them each slightly with your hand.

Bake them for 13-16 minutes or until they get a deep caramel color (but make sure they don’t burn.)

Cool on a rack and then eat them!

