Ingredients:

  • Tuna Steaks
  • Red Leaf Lettuce
  • Poached Eggs
  • Boiled Potatoes
  • Parboiled French Green Beans
  • Roasted Cherry Tomatoes
  • White Anchovies
  • Olives
  • Vinaigrette

I know everyone is probably sick of me complaining about my broken wrist… but it really sucks! One up-side to the whole affair has been how nice and helpful all my friends have been. Before Rafael got back from Australia, Amelia came over when I was at a particularly low point and did all of my dishes and ate pizza with me. Another day Luci came by and we baked cookies. Or, more accurately, she did all the real work while I made a mess trying to measure flour with my left hand. And then, a few days ago the amazing Molly Neuman came over and actually cooked dinner in our kitchen.

When Molly suggested that, instead of us going out to a restaurant, maybe she could come over and cook I was so psyched. Molly is a wonderful chef and she catered our wedding so I knew it would be great. She said we’d just have something simple, a salad Niçoise perhaps. But I was totally unprepared for the deliciousness that awaited me. She actually seared tuna steaks to go on the salad! Incredible!

I love watching Molly cook, I always learn something new and she makes everything look easy. For instance, she poached the eggs in a frying pan. (I usually do it in a big pot and swirl the water around and make a big mess.) She also oven roasted some cherry tomatoes until they were perfectly caramelized and brown, which is something I usually lack the patience to do…

The Salad Eater will be making this again for sure. It was just incredibly delicious, a great dinner salad with great dinner companions. Thank you Molly!

