Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 1/2 cup neutral oil (I use canola)
  • 1 cup sugar plus an extra 1/2 a cup for the last step
  • 1 egg
  • tsp vanilla
  • 2 1/2 cups flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt

Cream the first 5 ingredients (minus the extra 1/2 cup of sugar) on high for a long time until it’s extra fluffy and resembles butter cream frosting.

Sift the next 3 ingredients and then add them to the creamed mixture and mix until incorporated.

Chill the dough for at least 2 hours.

Roll the dough into walnut sized balls. Dip a flat-bottomed water-glass into water and then in the extra of sugar to coat the bottom of the glass. Use the sugar-coated glass to flatten the balls, re-sugar coating the glass after each ball. Flatten the cookies out as flat as you can.

Bake at 350 degrees for 7-10 minutes. Watch them, they shouldn’t get brown. (If they start to brown take them out immediately.)

Even though it hasn’t snowed for a while there are still tons of snow banks all over New York. One night a couple of weeks ago I was walking through the grounds of NYU faculty housing, which is a bunch of high rises surrounded by small lawns. The lawns were all covered with pristine blankets of snow that had turned glittery and icy after some recent rain. There was no one else around and it was amazing to be in such a otherworldly and silent place right in the middle of downtown Manhattan. The way the snow looked reminded me of the cracked tops of sugar cookies which got me thinking about my Great Aunt Irene’s amazing sugar cookie recipe.

These are so good, everyone loves them. The first time I tasted them I couldn’t believe they were homemade. They were so light they seemed like they were going to float off the plate. I imagine this recipe came from the back of a margarine package because the original calls for “Oleo” instead of butter. My Aunt Irene died several years ago but every time I make these I think of her, she was a really neat person and an incredible baker and cook.

On a less positive snow and ice related note, I fell on a sneaky patch of ice this week and broke my right wrist. Not having the use of my right hand TOTALLY BLOWS, but I am getting much better at typing with one hand…

