Ingredients:

  • Purple Kale
  • Hazelnuts
  • Mixed Mushrooms, sliced
  • Grated Parmesan Cheese
  • Garlic
  • Olive Oil
  • Cider Vinegar
  • Salt
  • Pepper

Pre-heat the oven to 400 degrees.

Toss the sliced mushrooms with olive oil, chopped garlic, and salt and bake in the 400 degree oven on a cookie sheet for 20 minutes or until browned.

Meanwhile, chop the hazelnuts and toast them in a dry skillet until they are slightly brown and fragrant. Put them aside.

Wash, dry, and cut the kale into ribbons. Drizzle the kale with the vinegar and sprinkle with salt. Set it aside to marinate.

Chop a few garlic cloves in half, so you’ll be able to fish them out easily later, and place them in a skillet with some olive oil. Warm the oil and garlic, keeping it on very low heat for about 10 minutes. Do not brown or burn the garlic.

Once the mushrooms are done and the oil is warm and infused with garlic flavor, fish out the garlic pieces and pour the oil over the marinated kale and toss it. Transfer it to a warm plate. Top it immediately with the mushrooms, the grated Parmesan, and the toasted hazelnuts. Grind pepper on top. Yum.

I’m fully into the warm salads now. This one was a real delicious surprise, made with things I had lying around the house. The kale I bought on a whim last week, the hazelnuts were left over from my ill-fated attempt at Gianduia Brownies, and I  had half a package of mushrooms lurking in the back of the fridge that I couldn’t figure out how to use. Lucky for me these things put together were really tasty. I actually took these pictures of it before I tasted it, not knowing if it was even going to make the Salad Eater cut but I’m happy to report that it did and then some.

