Ingredients:

  • 3/4 cup light brown sugar
  • 3/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 cup of butter
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 tsp vanilla
  • 2 cups flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp salt
  • A 12 oz. bag of semi-sweet chocolate chips

Cream the butter with the sugar in an electric mixer with the paddle attachment until light and fluffy, about 2 minutes.

Mix in vanilla and eggs until combined.

In a separate bowl stir together the flour, salt, and baking powder.

Stir the flour mixture into the wet ingredients until well combined.

Stir in the chocolate chips.

Refrigerate for 2 hours. (This part isn’t strictly necessary if you’re in a hurry.)

Roll the dough into balls and place them at least 2-inches apart on a parchment lined cookie sheet. Press the balls down to flatten them.

Bake at 350 for 12- 15 minutes.

OK, so I realize that a chocolate chip cookie recipe isn’t the most exciting thing in the world but I just wanted to share my personal adaptation of the classic Toll House recipe. (Basically I just use less flour, and more vanilla.) I love love love these cookies. I love baking them and making everyone happy and I love tasting them  in all their many delicious stages, like the butter and sugar stage, the dough stage, the fresh out of the oven stage, and the 2 days old stage.

This is my go-to cookie. I can make them in about 10 minutes. The most important things I’ve discovered over the years of making these are the following: Beat the sugar and butter real good, don’t skimp on the salt, and when you roll them into balls make sure to give a little squish to flatten them slightly before they go in the oven.

I wish I had one right now!

