Ingredients:

  • Spinach
  • A hard-boiled egg cut into quarters
  • 3 slices of bacon
  • Thinly sliced red onion
  • Red wine vinegar
  • Dijon mustard
  • Honey

Rinse the spinach, dry it well, and place it in a salad bowl with the sliced onions so it’s ready to be tossed once the hot dressing is ready.

Cut the bacon into small strips and cook it until crispy. Drain the bacon on a paper towel but keep about 1 Tbsp of the hot bacon fat in the pan. With the heat still on add 1 tsp of vinegar, 2 tsp of mustard, and a dollop of honey. Whisk it together and add some black pepper. Taste it and make sure you like it. (FYI- I didn’t actually measure any of this so these amounts are just estimates.)

Take the dressing off the heat and pour it immediately onto the spinach and onions. Toss them all together. Serve immediately with bacon on the top and the egg on the side.

I feel like this was a popular dish in the 90’s but I’d never actually tasted it. My recent re-commitment to salads had me wanting to try something warm since it’s so cold outside right now. I used an Alton Brown recipe as a starting point and I loved how it came out. I want to make it all the time now. I also think a warm bacon-fat based dressing like this would be great with radicchio or frisse. Also, next time I’m going to put it on a warm plate so it doesn’t cool off so quickly… Let the era of warm salads begin!

