Ingredients:

  • 1 large butternut squash, peeled, seeded, and cut into cubes, and roasted until soft.
  • 1/2 a large white onion, chopped
  • chicken broth
  • canola oil
  • sage leaves
  • olive oil
  • salt and pepper

I roasted the squash a few days before I made this soup because I was in a roasting mood. I just tossed it with olive oil and salt and put it in a 400 degree oven until it was tender.

To make the soup I cooked the onion in the canola oil until it got soft and then added the pre-cooked squash and enough chicken stock to cover everything. After I simmered it for a bit I broke out my new immersion blender (yay for wedding presents!) and blended it all til it was smooth. Meanwhile I heated up some olive oil and cut up some sage leaves. I fried the sage leaves in the hot oil until they turned dark and crispy (but not burnt) and then drained them on a paper towel and served them on top of the soup. Deeelicious!

I know I promised this post would be salad related but I just haven’t been in a salad mood. At least this post is somewhat healthful, and maybe the fried sage leaves can count as salad?

In other news: We are moving to a new apartment at the end of the month. I’m really going to miss the views and light from our old apartment. However, I won’t miss the mice, the lack of a bathroom sink, or the screaming neighbors….

