Ingredients:

  • 5 small purple and white potatoes sliced super thin
  • grated Gruyere cheese
  • heavy cream
  • butter

Butter a 8-inch square baking dish. Toss the potato slices generously with salt and pepper and put them in the buttered dish. Pour cream over the potatoes until they are almost covered. Dot the top with more butter, and  sprinkle with cheese.

Bake covered in tin foil in a 400 degree oven for about 45 min, until the potatoes are tender, then take the tin foil off for 10 minutes to brown the top. Let sit for 10 minutes. Go put on some elastic waist pants. Eat!

This started out innocently enough: I had some beautiful white and purple potatoes but I couldn’t think of how to use them. I didn’t have much else in the house except for celery and I’d already exhausted my celery and potatoes repertoire. I did have some cream, and a nub of Gruyere so this is what ended up happening.

I’m not going to lie, it was delicious, but maybe not the lightest lunch…

I will be back next time with some actual salad!

