Ingredients:

  • Curly Pasta
  • Arugula
  • Golden Raisins that have been soaked in warm water for 10 minutes and then drained
  • Blanched Almonds
  • Garlic
  • Olive Oil
  • Parmesan

Boil the pasta til al dente. Meanwhile, chop the almonds into large chunks, and slice the garlic. Get the olive oil hot in a pan and then add the almonds and garlic and cook til golden brown. Add the raisins and cook for a minute then add the arugula and a few tablespoons of water. Cook it until the arugula is getting tender (but not mushy) then add the drained pasta with a bit of it’s cooking liquid and cook for a minute more. Serve topped with Parmesan cheese.

One day I had almost nothing in the house to eat. I did have part of a package of pre-washed arugula, but even though I am the salad eater I was sick of salad. So I decided I’d try cooking with the arugula, I figured it would be like spinach. Recently I’d made a sautéed spinach dish with pine nuts and raisins so I thought I’d try something like that and stretch it out by adding it to pasta. I didn’t have any pine nuts so I used almonds which I think was a good thing because they added an exciting crunch factor. Turns out cooked arugula is really tasty. I like it better than cooked spinach actually.

Pasta dishes like this are a lot like salad I think. They are totally fast and a great platform to try different flavor combinations. Last winter, when all I could really get from the farmers market was onions and apples I invented a very delicious sautéed apple and onion pasta dish. It was really great, and tasted like an inside out Perogi!

