Ingredients:

  • 2 purple tomatillos
  • 1/2 a small red bell pepper
  • a handful of cherry tomatoes
  • olive oil
  • an egg
  • a slice of toasted bread

So  I missed my last two CSA  pick ups. One week I was out of town and couldn’t find anyone to pick it up and then the next time I just forgot. I was really annoyed at myself but after some internal eye rolling I got over it and went to the little farm stand in front of Roberta’s in Bushwick to buy some provisions:

like these beautiful purple tomatillos. Aren’t they so cool? They look like they belong in a flower arrangement.

I also bought some cherry tomatoes and a red pepper.

I didn’t really know what to do with my bounty. I ended up chopping up everything, sauteing it in olive old and then cracking an egg on top. I put a lid on the skillet and let the egg steam until it was to my liking (aka no runny whites.) It was delicious. The tomatillos were nutty and really tasty and not as spicy as I thought they’d be and the pepper and tomatoes added some tangy sweetness.

