Ingredients:

  • Mixed Salad Greens
  • Homemade Croutons
  • Cherry Tomatoes
  • Candied Blanched Almonds
  • Mustard Vinaigrette

I cut the cherry tomatoes in half, tossed them with olive oil and salt,  and then roasted them in a 400 degree (toaster) oven for about 20 minutes until they were starting to brown.

Meanwhile I candied the almonds by tossing them with 1 Tbsp of sugar and some salt and then cooking them until they turned caramelized and brown in a skillet. Usually I burn nuts when I try to do this but I paid close attention this time and they came out great.

After the almonds were done I used the same pan to toast up some stale bread to make the croutons.

Once the tomatoes were ready I tossed everything together along with some salad greens and dressing.

This salad was a symphony of salty and sweet and a perfect start to Fall cooking.

I am so glad summer is over. We just ended what I hope will be the last hot spell of the year. I am so ready to do Fall things like wear socks and use the oven.

