Last week  Mark Bittman did an article about Grilled Lebanese Flatbread for the Minimalist column. I really like the Minimalist columns because they are such quick, creative ideas but a lot of times I’ve found that the recipes don’t really work. This one in particular I knew was going to take some alterations because in the first step he had you combine dry yeast, sugar, water and salt. Even though I’m not the greatest bread baker I do know that when put in direct contact, salt will kill yeast so I changed that and also added a lot less flour. Also, since I don’t have a grill or any outdoor space in which to grill I cooked them on a dry cast iron skillet, which worked out great. So here is my recipe (adapted from Mark Bittman) I promise it works.

  • 2 teaspoons salt
  • 1 teaspoon sugar
  • 1 packet instant yeast
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour plus more for dusting

Combine yeast, sugar, and 1 cup of luke warm water and let sit for 10 minutes until it gets frothy.

Combine salt and flour.

Add flour mixture to yeast mixture and mix until well combined. Put it in a greased bowl and cover with a dishtowel. Let rise for two hours.

Knead the dough a little and then cut it into 8 equal balls. Let them rest for 10 minutes.

Heat up a cast iron skillet until it’s super hot.  Roll the balls into flat circles and cook them one at a time on the hot skillet.

Serve with some delicious things like tomatoes, cheese, and if you’re lucky (like me) some tomato jam your sister made you.

YUM.

I had some dough left over so I made a pizza the next day with goat brie and yellow plums- now that was a top notch lunch! I couldn’t believe I had made it.

