Just in case you thought all I ever ate were salads… I could easily also have a blog called ‘Cookie Eater’ because I really really love cookies. I love making them, I love eating the dough, I love watching them in the oven,  I love eating them when they come out of the oven, and I love sharing them with my friends and family.

I made three different kinds of cookies this weekend: Oatmeal Pecan Chocolate Chip, Chocolate with White Chocolate Chips, and Linzer Bars.

The Chocolate with White Chocolate Chip Cookies were conceived of by Rafael and are his favorites so henceforth they will be called Cocoa-Cohens. They are just the basic Toll House recipe only I use 2 cups of flour (instead of 2 1/4 cups) and add a 1/2 cup of cocoa. Also I use the most incredible white chocolate and cut it up instead of using regular chips. This stuff is so awesome, and I say that as someone who doesn’t really like white chocolate usually. It has specks of vanilla bean in it!

The Linzer Bars are a recipe from Maida Heatter’s Book of Great Cookies and they turned out really great.

But the ones I’m most proud of are the Oatmeal Pecan Chocolate Chip Cookies  because they turned out exactly like I wanted them to (even though I was kind of winging it.) So here’s the recipe:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Cream together:

  • 2 sticks of butter
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup white sugar

Mix in:

  • 2 tsp vanilla
  • 2 eggs

In a separate bowl mix together:

  • 1 cup flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 2 1/2 cups of old fashioned oats

Add the dry ingredients to the wet ones until it’s well mixed. Then stir in:

  • one cup chopped pecans
  • a 12 oz bag of chocolate chips

Drop rounded teaspoons full of dough onto an un-greased cookie sheet and flatten them each slightly with your hand.

Bake them for 16 minutes or until they get a deep caramel color (but make sure they don’t burn.)

Cool on a rack and then eat them!

