Last week in the CSA I got this thin little bundle of celery which didn’t look like the big wide celery I know and love, and it didn’t taste like it either. Instead it tasted more concentrated,  and I was wary of it and it’s large herb-tasting leaves.

By the end of the week I had eaten all of the more glamorous and exciting pieces of the CSA; the donut peaches, the mammoth collard greens, and so on, and all I was left with were potatoes and the weird skinny celery, which seemed like pretty boring ingredients. But then the weather turned briefly cooler and fall-like and I started to crave a warm starchy potato dish so I came up with two great meals.

Warm Potato Salad

Ingredients:

  • 4  medium red potatoes
  • 2 stalks of celery and their tops, diced
  • 1/2 of a small red onion, sliced thin
  • a chopped hard-boiled egg
  • Mustard Vinaigrette

I kept the peels on the potatoes, cut them up into 1-inch pieces, and boiled them. In the meantime I chopped up all the other ingredients and made the vinaigrette. When the potatoes were soft I drained them and tossed them immediately with the other ingredients. The vinaigrette soaked into the hot potatoes and made them so great. I loved this!

Potato Pancakes with Apple-Celery Relish

Ingredients to make 8 potato pancakes:

  • 5 small red potatoes, grated
  • 1 small white onion, grated
  • 3 Tbsp flour
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 egg, slightly beaten

Ingredients for the relish:

  • 3 stalks of celery, diced
  • 1 small apple, diced
  • salt and pepper
  • the juice of  1/2 a lemon

I mixed all of the potato pancake ingredients together, formed little patties and then fried them in 1/2 oil, 1/2 butter. I flipped them when they were brown on one side and then drained them on paper towels before serving them. While they were frying I made the relish. I had fun cutting the celery and apple into even little cubes, or trying to at least. When served together this is so bright and delicious. I will definitely make it again.

I was pretty excited that I managed to make two delicious things out of such humble ingredients and I was glad I got over my initial scepticism about the weird celery- it actually tasted really good!

