Ingredients:

  • Cauliflower
  • Romaine
  • Fried Capers
  • Red Onion
  • A Hard Boiled Egg
  • Oil, Vinegar, Salt and Pepper

Lots of people don’t like cauliflower but I think it’s pretty tasty. It doesn’t have the strongest flavor of it’s own so it’s a good canvas for stronger flavors- like fried capers!  This salad is inspired by the warm lamb salad at Buttermilk Channel only this version doesn’t have lamb because, sadly, I didn’t have any extra lamb laying around the house.

My first step was to fry the capers. I heated up  a 1/2 inch of oil in a  small saucepan and then cooked the capers in it until they opened up and got a little darker. Then I drained them and let them cool. They are so crispy and delicious this way. The Buttermilk Channel version of this salad has roasted cauliflower but I’m anti-oven in the summer so I just blanched mine in some salty water for a couple of minutes and then tossed it with the onions, romaine, salt, pepper, fried capers,  olive oil and vinegar and put a hard boiled egg on the side.  Does this seem weird? It really wasn’t, it was totally delicious!

