So my mom, AKA Ms Potato, wanted me to show how I make vinaigrette dressing. It’s one of my favorite things that I know how to make, and it’s super duper easy. It really brings salads alive, and Salad Eater would not be here without it! So here are all the secrets:

Secret #1  is Amora mustard. It’s EVERYWHERE in France but it’s not imported to the U.S. It has a smooth velvety feel and pure dijon-y taste. Usually it’s packaged in an adorable little juice glass but my last batch, brought home in my parent’s suitcase, came in this less charming (but still tasty!) plastic squeezey thing. My friend Andre found a source where you can buy it online. They sell it in the juice glasses and it’s only $2.80 for a jar. I promise you won’t regret the purchase!

Secret #2 is to use a lot of salt in the dressing.  I love salt and I think people are too afraid of cooking with it.

And now that the secrets are out… here is the recipe! This makes enough for 5 or 6 loosely packed cups of salad greens. You can store it for a day or so if you don’t need the whole amount. It’s all about proportions (roughly 1 part mustard vinegar mix to 3 parts oil) so you won’t need to measure once you get the hang of it.

Ingredients:

  • 1 Tbsp Dijon Mustard, preferably Amora
  • 2 tsp finely minced shallots
  • 2 tsp red wine vinegar, cider or white wine vinegars would work fine as well
  • 1/4 tsp course sea salt (or 1/8 tsp of table salt)
  • 5 grinds of pepper (or however much you like)
  • 4 Tbsp good quality olive oil

Put your mustard, shallots, salt, and pepper in a big salad bowl, preferably the one you will be tossing the salad in so you don’t dirty any more dishes than you need to.

Whisk this until everything is well incorporated.

Add one Tablespoon of the oil.

Whisk the first tablespoon of oil into the mustard mixture. It will start to incorporate and look a little separated and bubbly as seen in the picture above….

Then, as it gets more emulsified it will start to come together in viscous ribbons. Keep whisking it….

…until it’s fully emulsified and can you can see your whisk marks in the bowl as in the picture above.

Whisk in the other 3 Tablespoons of oil one at a time in this manner until you get a totally emulsified dressing with a creamy texture. Taste it as you go to make sure you like where it’s heading.

It will look something like this.

You can make it ahead of time, and if any separation occurs you can re-whisk it fairly easily right before serving.

So there you go mom!

On a funny side note: Rafael recently went to France and had the sweet idea to pick me up some Amora in the airport on the way home. When he went into duty free shop the clerk laughed and said he should go to a supermarket. I guess it’s like walking into a duty free here and asking for Heinz Ketchup or something. He ended up getting me some really nice fancy mustard that I also like but then on the plane they served him this tiny little packet of Amora and he brought it home for me. I think it’s so cute that I don’t want to use it!

