Ingredients:

  • thin shaved slices of fennel bulb and chopped fennel fronds
  • parmesan cheese
  • lemon juice
  • olive oil
  • salt and pepper

I didn’t grow up eating fennel or even really knowing what it was. However, there was an anise bush, which is a similar plant, on my walk to and from school and I always used to pull off its fronds and eat them. (My walk also contained other culinary delights like a honeysuckle bush and sour grass.) So I think I was predisposed to it’s licorice-like flavor.

I first tasted real fennel in a version of this ultra simple salad at a restaurant in the lower east side called Max. I love it’s crunchy texture and unexpected flavor. It doesn’t seem right that a root that tastes like licorice would go so well with cheese but somehow it works!

