Rafael and I spent part of our honeymoon this summer on Sifnos, a beautiful little island in the Cyclades in Greece. One of the great things about Sifnos is that all the food is local. They don’t make a big deal out of it but they grow all their own vegetables, bake their own bread, raise their own lambs, and so on. We ate some truly amazing food, like grilled fish that had been caught that morning by the chef, and unbelievable little lamb chops, grilled and sprinkled with salt, oregano, and lemon juice… yum yum yum!!

The oregano was local too. Here’s a picture of a beach we went to- all the scrubby little bushes on the hillside are oregano! It makes the air smell so nice.

I was surprised to find that Greeks really do eat Greek salad and also surprised by how amazing it was. The local olives (and olive oil) and the freshly gathered capers and oregano really set it over the top. So when I got home and found a bunch of cucumbers in my CSA I tried to replicate it. It was really good but, of course, the capers and the olives didn’t compare. I made the salad with  cucumbers, feta, cherry tomatoes, red onions, capers, green olives, olive oil, lemon juice, and salt and pepper, I didn’t have bell peppers but they would have fit right in.

I ended up making kind of a lot so the next day I tossed it with some pasta for a very delicious lunch.

